Helping Women be the most Beautiful, Inside and Out

Secrets Made to Share

One day my girlfriend overnighted, and as good friends do, I offered to let her use my shower.  Upon showing her where the towels and toiletries were I was surprised by the reaction on her face when she looked around at all the mostly full bottles of expensive Shampoos, Conditioners, and Cosmetics collecting dust on my counter.   (I’d rather not mention any brand names for obvious reasons).  “What’s the deal?” She said in a puzzled voice. “You have all these awesome products sitting here that look like you haven’t touched in years.” 
Her second reaction to my response was even more surprising.  I explained that I, by much trial and error, had found alternate products that work better and cost less.  Then I offered her to take as many of the expensive dust collectors that she pleased.   Thinking about it for a moment with a raised brow and a fixed stare, she said “I have noticed lately that your hair has more bounce, less friz and more shine.  What’s your secret?”

Now that I had her curiosity up I said  “You really what to know?”

I don’t buy expensive beauty products anymore because they just don’t do the trick for me.   

Take just Shampoos and Conditioners for instance, I’ve bought every famous name brand there is on the market, and at first they work great but after a few uses I notice that my hair looks dull and lifeless again.  So I would put that aside and try another, that is why I ended up with a whole shelf full of partially used products.  Ever notice the ingredients on the labels of most conditioners and anti frizz products, like wax and alcohol?  (No wonder my hair was so dull and lifeless!)  Frustrated from spending so much money and not finding a single product that worked for me, I searched for alternate remedies and found them right under my own nose, and around my own house.  Not only products for my hair but my skin and more. 

I’ll let you in on My Secret.

Here are just a few of My Favorite Secret Beauty Products you can make at Home:

Hair Repair. If you have dry or damaged hair here is a great recipe to help revive your hair’s natural shine and bounce.   Mix 1/2 ripe banana, 1/2 ripe avocado, 1tps extra virgin olive oil, and 3 drops of lemon oil.  Mash the banana and avocado into a creamy texture then blend in the olive oil and lemon oil. Work the mixture into your dry hair (not wet).  Cover with a shower cap, leave on for about an hour. Then rinse it out.  You’ll need to use a comb to get all the little particles out.  Then shampoo and condition as you normally would.  

If your hair is really damaged repeat this treatment up to 3 times a week until your hair is back in shape. (This is one of my favorites, smells good enough to eat!)

Note-Avocado is rich in natural moisturizers for the skin, making it an excellent ingredient for any homemade natural skin care recipe. An avocado contains Vitamin A, C, E, potassium, iron, as well as a host of natural emollients.

 

Makeup Remover.  Instead of expensive creams, use olive oil!  Works great to remove eye makeup and it’s good for your skin too. Just store some in a small jar or medicine bottle.  It also works great as a moisturizer for dry skin, and absorbs in quickly.  I hear that Baby Oil works good too.   Just have to squeeze alot of babies to get enough oil! ( just kidding moms!)

   

 

Facial Cleanser. Here’s a quick and inexpensive facial cleanser recipe using milk and honey.  Mix 2 teaspoons of warmed honey with 2 tablespoons of whole milk.  Rinse your face and massage cleanser in for a few minutes, then rinse off and dry.  Only make enough to use right away, it doesn’t store well.  (this is so sweet!)

 

Peppermint Toothpaste.  Mix 1tbsp of baking soda and 1/4 tsp. of pepperment extract with a dash of salt, stir until it has the consistency of toothpaste.  Then brush away.  ( Notice that most store bought brands have baking soda in them, they must have figured out the secret!)

 

Other:

Baking Soda, not just for Baking. You probably already know that an open box of Baking Soda will keep your refrigerator smelling fresh. 

But did you know it works good for kitty litter boxes too?  You can also sprinkle it on your carpets to eliminate odors, just leave it on for about a half an hour, then vacuum. 

Clear a clogged drain by pouring in 1 cup baking soda followed by 1 cup hot vinegar.  Give it several minutes to work, then add 1 quart (1 liter) boiling water. Repeat if necessary.

For more extraordinary uses of Baking Soda check this out!

Try Before You Buy Offers.  Not sure if you are going to like a product before you buy it?   We know Coctco and Sam’s have free samples of food, but what about beauty products?  Many Companies offer free trials of their products, with no obligation to purchase.  Here’s one for anti aging skin care products for example, there are many more out there. 

I’ll be adding more in the future so stay tuned.  I’d love your comments, and any secrets you’ve got to share.

Leave a Reply

